Monday, July 12, 2010

Spain wins the FIFA World cup 2010 & Paul,the octopus gets it right again !

The 19th edition of the FIFA world cup is concluded, and Spain wins it !!
The final, 64th match of the tournament was played between Spain (presently at World No.2 in FIFA rankings) & Netherlands (presently at World No.4 in FIFA rankings), that is you can say Holland or Dutch and Spain won the match with a score line of 1-0. Both teams played more cautiously in the 1st half  and then Spain started attacking from the word go in the 2nd half and at the end of 2nd half the score-line was 0-0. The result of the match was decided in extra time.

I must say Netherlands were bit more defensive and I observed that at an average of 15 minutes they were passing the ball to there goalkeeper, that is atleast for 6 times they passed the ball to there goalkeeper, and I think it is very cautious and defensive approach from them.

This is the first time the team losing its opening match, Spain lost to Switzerland in there opening encounter, and then winning the world cup. And at last but not the least, Paul, the octopus predicted the result accurately and that takes his tally to 8 out 8, that is his prediction are 100% correct until now. Paul predicted result of 8 matches (including semifinal and final) and they all went in the same way. Though Mani parrot lost the battle against Paul octopus, it has nothing to loose, as it has already gained popularity in Singapore ! :)

The snapshot showing Spain team with the world cup,


  • Spain's goalkeeper,  Iker Casillas wins the Adidas golden glove award.
  • Germany's Midfielder, Thomas Mueller wins Golden boot/shoe & best young player award.
  • Uruguay's Diego Forlan wind Golden ball award.
  • Spain's Midfielder, Andres Iniesta wins Man of the Match (MoM) award in the finals.
  • Spain, as team won FIFA fair play award.
  • The highest number of goals scored by any player in this world cup is 5, and there are 4 player who achieved this, they are Thomas Muller of Germany scoring at an average of 0.8 goals in each game, David Villa of Spain, Diego Forlan of Uruguay & Wesley Sneijder of Netherlands scoring at an average of 0.7 goals in each game
    The final tournament rankings are, as follows (in that order),
    1. Spain
    2. Netherlands
    3. Germany
    4. Uruguay

    Stay tuned for next edition of the world cup which will be held in Brazil in the year 2014 .
    have fun.. :)

    No comments:

    Post a Comment